Pepperdine Celebrates 2014 Student-Athlete Honors Dinner

Malte Kramer

April 1, 2014

Photo Gallery

MALIBU, Calif. - Student-athletes, coaches and staff members gathered in Firestone Fieldhouse on Tuesday night to celebrate Pepperdine University's seventh annual Student-Athlete Honors Dinner.

Director of Athletics Steve Potts was the master of ceremonies for the night. Athletics Chaplain Krista Lopata gave the invocation and, following a dinner catered by Buca di Beppo, each head coach in attendance introduced their seniors.

The Scholar-Athlete of the Year, recognizing academic achievement, was awarded to seniors Malte Kramer of the men's basketball team and Kristin DeGrandmont of the women's soccer team.

Kramer (Frieburg, Germany/Cuesta CC), an economics major, was named Pepperdine basketball's first-ever Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-American this season (he was named to the first team). He was also selected to the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Scholar-Athlete team and to the West Coast Conference's All-Academic first team.

DeGrandmont (Portland, Ore./Jesuit HS), an accounting major, was named to the WCC All-Academic honorable mention team three times in her career, and she was also a two-time All-WCC honorable mention pick as well.

The Wave of the Year award honors student-athletes for outstanding contributions in spirit and service to the athletics program and the university community. The winners were Chris Hostetler (El Cajon, Calif./Steele Canyon Charter HS), a sophomore on the cross country team, and Lynn Williams (Fresno, Calif./Bullard HS), a junior on the women's soccer team.

The Maurice Hilliard Award, given in honor and memory of former Pepperdine athletic chaplain Maurice Hilliard, was awarded to Jesse Aston (Martinez, Calif./Alhambra HS), a senior on the men's cross country team. Aston was unable to attend due to class commitments, but his coach, Robert Radnoti, accepted on his behalf. The award goes to a student-athlete that exemplifies the attributes of Christian faith, character and leadership. Aston previously won the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award in 2013.

The award was established two years ago after the passing of Hilliard in March of 2012. The Maurice Hilliard Award is now an annual honor. Skye Barnett, a women's basketball alumna, was the inaugural honoree and Jennifer Karson, a women's soccer alumna, was given the honor last year.

Also of note and on display was the list of Pepperdine Scholar Athletes, a list that has grown from 66 in 2013 to 106 in 2014.

Following dinner and the awards ceremony there was a student-athlete formal.

Pepperdine Waves
Official online store