Pepperdine Celebrates Another Successful Year at Student-Athlete Honors Banquet

Robie Mayberry of women's basketball accepting the inaugural Maurice Hilliard Award on behalf of recipient Skye Barnett.

April 18, 2012

Photo Gallery

MALIBU, Calif. - Student-athletes, coaches and staff members gathered on Wednesday night to celebrate Pepperdine University's Fifth Annual Student-Athlete Honors Dinner in Firestone Fieldhouse.

Director of Athletics Steve Potts was the master of ceremonies. Krista Friedman, the Assistant Athletic Chaplain and former women's volleyball player, gave the invocation. Following a dinner catered by Wood Ranch, each head coach in attendance introduced their seniors.

Madison Krall (Pueblo, Colo./Pueblo Centennial HS), co-president of SAAC, announced that the women's golf team won the inaugural Waves Team Cup Award. The Waves Team Cup is an annual competition between Pepperdine's 15 intercollegiate teams, and is awarded to the squad who shows the most support through the attendance of athletic events. The women's soccer squad and the men's baseball team finished in second and third, respectively.

A new award honoring former athletics chaplain Maurice Hilliard, who recently passed away, was also established. The award will be given every year to the student-athlete that exemplifies the attributes of Christian faith, character and leadership. The inaugural winner of the Maurice Hilliard Award was Skye Barnett (Albuquerque, N.M/Cibola HS), a senior on the women's basketball team.

Pepperdine's Athletes of the Year for 2011-12 are repeat winners from the previous year. Sebastian Fanselow (Essen, Germany/Kaplan College Prep School), a junior on the men's tennis team, captured the men's award, while Kim Hill (Portland, Ore./Portland Christian HS), a senior on the women's indoor and sand volleyball teams, was the women's award-winner.

Fanselow, who recently moved up to a career-best #9 in the ITA Collegiate singles rankings, has been a force for Pepperdine this season. The junior is 26-7 in singles and has won 13 matches in a row after defeating #25-ranked Remi Boutillier for Fresno State earlier this evening. In doubles, Fanselow has teamed up with Jenson Turner (Woodland Hills, Calif./Campbell Hall HS) for 19 victories.

Last year, he was named an ITA All-American in singles after reaching the round of 16 at the NCAA Singles Championship. He is on pace to earn All-American distinction once again if he maintains a top-20 singles ranking, or reaches the round of 16 at the championships in May.

The men's tennis team, who is 20-6 after defeating the Bulldogs 4-3, wraps the regular season against BYU on April 21 before heading to San Diego, Calif. on April 26-28 for the West Coast Conference Championship.

Hill became the indoor volleyball program's second ever AVCA First Team All-American and ninth WCC Player of the Year after a phenomenal senior season. The Waves reached the regional finals at the 2011 NCAA Tournament, and Hill was named to the all-tournament team. She ends here indoor career ranked sixth all-time at Pepperdine with 1,300 kills and tied for third with 376 blocks.

Hill's fairytale senior campaign isn't over yet, as she and the Waves compete at the inaugural AVCA Collegiate Sand Volleyball National Championship on April 27-29 in Gulf Shores, Ala.

The Scholar-Athlete of the Year, recognizing academic achievement, was split in both the men's and women's categories. Each of the recipients owns a grade-point average of better than 3.84.

Matt Brown (Bellevue, Wash./Brown Academy), a junior sports medicine major on the men's water polo team, and Don Martin (Gladstone, Mo./Oak Park HS), a senior sports medicine major on the men's basketball team, split the men's award (Brown also won a share of the award in 2010-11). On the women's side, Karissa Garcia (Roseville, Calif./Oakmont HS), a senior business administration major on the women's soccer team, and Klaire Korver (Redwood City, Calif./Pinewood School), a junior economics major on the women's diving squad, were the winners.

The Wave of the Year honors student-athletes for outstanding contributions in spirit and service to the athletics program and the university community. For the second straight year, Myriah Stockman (Sandy, Utah/Brighton HS), a senior on the women's soccer team, was a winner. On the men's side, Daniel Moss (Malibu, Calif./Malibu HS), a senior on the men's tennis team, was the selection.

Pepperdine Waves
Official online store