Pepperdine Athletics Sells Out 2010 Hall Of Fame Ceremony

Oct. 13, 2010

MALIBU, Calif. – With over 400 tickets sold, this Sunday’s Pepperdine University Athletics Hall of Fame at the Warner Center Marriott was declared a sell out Wednesday morning by Assistant Athletics Director for Marketing and Alumni Relations Heather Collart.

“The response we’ve received from alumni, fans, the inductees and their families has been incredible,” she said. “I think it’s going to be a memorable night for everyone in attendance as we pay tribute to this distinguished group of honorees and recognize their accomplishments. As a department, we’re very humbled by the outpouring of support that has helped us make this event a success.”



This year’s ceremony will bring together the 2005 Pepperdine men’s volleyball national championship team plus six additional all-time greats, including Randy Wolf of the Milwaukee Brewers and Cleveland third-base coach Steve Smith, 1993 WCC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year Dana Jones, men’s volleyball and U.S. Olympic head coach Marv Dunphy, and men’s water polo and women’s tennis All-Americans Sasha Poljak and Janna Kovacevich. 

LPGA tour veteran Lindsey Wright and 2008 Olympic silver medalist in doubles Simon Aspelin are also part of this year’s prestigious class but are unable to attend.

The Pepperdine Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 1980. This year's group will join 86 individuals and 12 teams that have already been enshrined.

To be eligible for induction, nominees must have competed, coached for or rendered an extraordinary service to Pepperdine University Athletics. After a list of nominations was gathered, Pepperdine's Hall of Fame Committee made the decision on this year's inductees.

Check-in and welcome reception will take place in the hotel lobby and outside patio beginning at 5 p.m., with dinner and the awards presentation starting at 6 p.m. in the grand ballroom.

Pepperdine Waves
Official online store