Kramer Earns Academic All-American Third Team Honors

Malte Kramer

Feb. 20, 2014

MALIBU, Calif. - Senior forward Malte Kramer became the first Pepperdine men's basketball player ever to receive Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-America honors, as the organization announced today that he earned a spot on the third team.

Kramer (Frieberg, Germany/Cuesta CC), who holds a 4.0 grade-point average in economics, is the 10th Wave (among all sports) who has received Academic All-America honors over the years.

In order to be nominated, a student-athlete must have a 3.3 GPA or better, have at least sophomore standing and appear in a minimum of 50 percent of a team's games. Kramer was previously named to the six-member All-District 8 first team, allowing him to move on to the Academic All-America ballot.

The West Coast Conference was well-represented, as Beau Levesque of Saint Mary's and Thomas van der Mars of Portland joined Kramer on the third team.

Kramer has been an important reserve and occasional starter for the Waves in 2013-14. He's appeared in 24 games, starting eight, and is averaging 4.1 points and 1.5 rebounds. He's made 41% of his three-pointers (22-for-54) on the season. Kramer scored a career-high 14 points against Indiana State at the Great Alaska Shootout in November. Earlier this month, he made the go-ahead three-pointer late in a home victory against rival Loyola Marymount.

In 2012-13, his first season with the Waves, Kramer earned a place on the NABC Honors Court and also garnered WCC Commissioner's Honor Roll "gold" honors.

Before transferring to Pepperdine, Kramer was the state of California's junior college scholar-athlete of the year in 2011-12 while at Cuesta College. He also held a 4.0 GPA at Cuesta and was an all-state first team selection in basketball.

Kramer has helped the Waves (14-13 overall, 7-8 WCC) to their best season in nearly a decade. Pepperdine's 14 overall wins are the school's most since 2004-05, and the seven conference victories are the most since 2003-04.



The Waves visit LMU in a Wells Fargo PCH Cup game tonight (Thursday, Feb. 20) at 8 p.m. The game will be televised by ESPNU and an audio-only broadcast will be hosted by Al Epstein via WaveCasts at

The entire list of Division I men's basketball Academic All-America recipients are as follows:

First Team: Brayden Carlson (South Dakota State), Aaron Craft (Ohio State), Drew Crawford (Northwestern), Melvin Ejim (Iowa State), J.J. Mann (Belmont).

Second Team: Jordan Dykstra (South Dakota State), Holton Hunsaker (Utah Valley), Dennis Ogbe (Tennessee Tech), Marcus Paige (North Carolina), Kendrick Perry (Youngstown State).

Third Team: Malte Kramer (Pepperdine), Beau Levesque (Saint Mary's), Matt Townsend (Yale), Thomas van der Mars (Portland), Patric Young (Florida).

Pepperdine Waves
Official online store