Darby Earns I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team Award

Taylor Darby

April 3, 2012

MALIBU, Calif. - Senior forward Taylor Darby of the Pepperdine men's basketball team added to his list of academic awards today as he was named to the 11-member Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Scholar-Athlete team.

Division I-AAA consists of the 99 Division I schools that do not sponsor football. Each of the nominees were required to have at least a 3.2 grade-point average, be a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletic credentials, and have reached at least junior status in athletic and academic standing.

Darby (San Marcos, Calif./Mission Hills HS), an integrated marketing communications major, was previously named to the CoSIDA/Capital One Academic All-District first team this season. He was also named to the West Coast Conference's All-Academic first team for the third time (he and Corbin Moore became just the fourth and fifth Pepperdine players to earn three-time honors).

Darby grew into one of the Waves' top players as a senior, averaging a team-high 12.3 points during the 2011-12 season after posting a career average of just 6.7 points after his first three seasons. In the WCC this year, he ranked 10th in rebounding (6.0), 11th in blocked shots (0.8) and 12th in scoring. It was the third time in four seasons that he rated among the conference's top 10 rebounders.

Darby appeared in all 125 games in his career, tying for second place on Pepperdine's all-time list. He became the eighth Wave to record 100 career starts, and finished seventh on Pepperdine's list with 111 starts. Unfortunately, with 997 career points, he wound up just three points shy of becoming the 37th Wave to score 1,000 points.

Other past academic honors for Darby include being named an Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar and to the NABC Honors Court in 2011. He could earn both of those awards again in 2012.

The other members of the men's Scholar-Athlete team were Luke Patrick Apfeld (Vermont), Ben Averkamp (Loyola Chicago), Travis Bader (Oakland), Matthew Dickey (North Carolina Asheville), Walt Gibler (Loyola-Chicago), Chase Hallam (Denver), Mick Hedgepeth (Belmont), Tony Meier (Wisconsin-Milwaukee), Scott Saunders (Belmont) and Adam Sollazzo (East Tennessee State).



Pepperdine Waves
Official online store