Four Waves Inducted into SoCal Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame

Jeff Stork, Craig Buck, Marv Dunphy, Bob Ctvrlik (Photo by Ed Chan)
May 11, 2017


MALIBU, Calif.: – The Pepperdine men’s volleyball program saw four Waves inducted into the SoCal Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame in early March at the American Sports Center in Anaheim, Calif.

The inductees include men's volleyball head coach Marv Dunphy, former men's volleyball head coach and player Jeff Stork and former men's volleyball standouts Craig Buck and Bob Ctvrlik.  These coaches and players were chosen after growing up or having the majority of their careers in Southern California.  

Elissa Sato was awarded the Lifetime Service award for her nearly 50 years scorekeeping since the 1970’s, and is most well known as the matron of the Sato clan.  She was a longtime scorekeeper for Pepperdine during her many years in the business.

Some of the most noted nominees include former UCLA 3-time NCAA Champion and double indoor gold medalist Karch Kiraly; USC NCAA Champion and two-time indoor gold medalist and once bronze medalist Steve Timmons; and Long Beach State NCAA Player of the Year and the first player to set an unbeaten women's NCAA title team Misty May-Treanor.

The ceremony took place at the American Sports Center at the Highway 39 Event Center in Anaheim, Calif. on May 7.  The final 25 inductees were announced in early February and will be a part of the hall of fame display in the Sideline Café at the sports center.  The American Sports Center is likely home through the 2020 Tokyo Olympica Games for both USA Men’s and Women’s National Volleyball Teams.

Follow @PeppVolleyball on Twitter and Facebook for immediate updates, results and more.  Go to for recaps, schedules and more.

Full Inductees:
(listed alphabetically)
Andy Banachowski
Lauren Brassey-Iversen
Craig Buck
Deitre Collins-Parker
Tara Cross-Battle
Bob Ctvrtlik
Marv Dunphy
Dusty Dvorak
Rolf Engen
Karch Kiraly
Ricci Luyties
Chris Marlowe
Misty May-Treanor
Kim Oden
Mike O’Hara
Doug Partie
Al Scates
Gene Selznick
Sinjin Smith
Jeff Stork
Steve Timmons
Paula Weishoff



Pepperdine Waves
Official online store