West Named Volleyball Magazine All-American

Matt West

June 3, 2014

MALIBU, Calif. – After earning AVCA All-American status, setter Matt West of the Pepperdine men’s volleyball team was further recognized by Volleyball Magazine as an NCAA Men’s All-American third team selection. West was one of just 21 student-athletes selected from across the country to receive the honor.

Volleyball Magazine went with a new format this season when selecting All-Americans. Instead of 10 players selected per team, this year’s list includes just seven players per team based on position. Each team consists of two middle blockers, two outside hitters, one opposite side hitter, one setter and one libero. In addition, three coaches were honored.

West (Seattle, Wash./Shorewood HS) is making his second-straight appearance on the Volleyball Magazine All-American squad and was a second team selection last year as a sophomore. The setter is also a two-time AVCA All-American after getting a second-team nod back in April.

The Waves finished the 2014 campaign as MPSF regular season co-champions, and advanced to the semifinals of the conference tournament.

West finished the season ranked third in the MPSF and eighth in the NCAA with an 11.00 assists per set average.

On the defensive side of things, West picked up 2.12 digs per set to rank 10th in the conference and 31st in the country.

With West quarterbacking the offense, the Waves hit at a .292 attack percentage – top-15 amongst all Div. I-II programs. Pepperdine has swung at .300+ in 14 contests this season.

The junior has dished over 3,500 assists during his three seasons at Pepperdine. He is on pace to become just the second player to surpass 4,000 during his senior campaign, joining current assistant coach and four-time All-American Jonathan Winder.

Volleyball Magazine NCAA Men’s All-Americans
First Team

Taylor Sander, OH, BYU – Player of the Year
Brian Cook, OH, Stanford
Taylor Averill, MB, Hawaii
Scott Kevorken, MB, UC Irvine
Joe Smalzer, OPP, Loyola-Chicago
Micah Christenson, S, USC
Michael Brinkley, L, UC Irvine
Shane Davis, Loyola-Chicago – Coach of the Year



Second Team
Taylor Crabb, OH, Long Beach State
Brooke Sedore, OH, Hawaii
Thomas Jaeschke, OH, Loyola-Chicago
Nick Olson, MB, Loyola-Chicago
Conrad Kaminski, MB, Stanford
James Shaw, S, Stanford
Henry Cassiday, L, USC
John Kosty, Coach, Stanford

Third Team
Aaron Russell, OH, Penn State
Gonzalo Quiroga, OH, UCLA
Matt Leske, MB, Ball State
Driss Guessous, MB, Ohio State
Eric Mochalski, OPP, Stanford
Matt West, S, Pepperdine
Grand Delgado, L, Stanford
Chris McGown, Coach, BYU

Lucas Yoder, OH, USC - Freshman of the Year

Pepperdine Waves
Official online store