Pepperdine Falls to Wyoming 72-50 in Thanksgiving Classic Title Game

Robie Mayberry earned all-tournament honors

Nov. 24, 2012

Final Stats |  Photo Gallery 


MALIBU, Calif. – Despite a strong outing from senior guard Shay Cooney-Williams  , Wyoming started strong and never looked back, defeating Pepperdine in the championship game of the Thanksgiving Classic, 72-50 Saturday afternoon at Firestone Fieldhouse. The Waves dropped to 2-3 overall, while the Cowgirls improved to 4-0 on the young season.

Pepperdine was paced by Cooney-Williams (Frisco, Texas/Frisco HS) scoring 13 points including three made shots from beyond the arc. Cooney-Williams also dished out four assists and had two steals. Robie Mayberry (Oakland, Calif./Bishop O’Dowd HS) added seven points while grabbing eight rebounds. Tessa Emerson (Santa Barbara, Calif./Santa Barbara HS) had another solid outing with seven points on 3-for-4 shooting from the field.

The Waves forced eight turnovers in the first half but were unable to maintain Wyoming on the glass as they were outrebounded 27-12 before intermission.  This dominance on the glass helped fuel the transition game and a 17-4 run midway through the first half. The Cowgirls also edged the Waves at the charity stripe going 9-for-11 compared to just 2-for-4 for Pepperdine. Wyoming led 38-21 at halftime.

The Waves wasted no time coming out of the break when they grabbed a steal and a quick layup from Mayberry to open the second half. Wyoming then responded with two jumpers within 30 seconds and kept the foot on the pedal from that point on.

Wyoming held the advantage in total field goal percentage, shooting 50% for the game while the Waves were held to only 28.6% from the field. The Cowgirls also owned the free throw line going 17-for-23 and made more charity shots than Pepperdine attempted. The Waves went 9-for-15 from the foul line.

The Waves return to action when they travel to Seattle, Wash. to take on the University of Washington November 27. The non-conference action is set to tip-off at 7:00 p.m. from Bank of America Arena.

Chelan Landry – Wyoming – MVP
Chaundra Sewell – Wyoming
Robie Mayberry – Pepperdine
Tessa Emerson – Pepperdine
Ka-Deidre Simmons – Seton Hall
Nicole Seekamp – South Dakota



Pepperdine Waves
Official online store