Three Golfers Earn WCC All-Academic First Team Honors

Liv Cheng

April 12, 2013

MALIBU, Calif. - Three members of the Pepperdine men's and women's golf teams earned West Coast Conference All-Academic first team honors, the league office announced today. Liv Cheng and Alina Ching of the women's team and Kevin DeHuff of the men's squad were selected.

Cheng (Auckland, New Zealand/Macleans College), a junior, is making her second appearance on the team. She was also an NGCA All-American Scholar in 2010-11 and an Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar in 2011-12. An economics major, Cheng has a 76.00 stroke average in 21 rounds this season. She was also named All-WCC first team in 2011 and 2012.

Ching (Honolulu, Hawaii/Punahou School), a sophomore, was the WCC Freshman of the Year last season, an All-WCC first teamer and an NGCA All-American Scholar. A psychology major, she has a 77.42 stroke average in 24 rounds this season.

DeHuff (Coto de Caza, Calif./Santa Margarita Catholic HS), a sophomore, has been a regular in Pepperdine's lineup the past two seasons. A business administration major, DeHuff has a 74.79 stroke average in 24 rounds this season.

All-Academic team members must have been at the school for at least one full year, maintain at least a 3.2 grade-point average and be a significant contributor to the team.

Both teams are headed to the WCC Championships next week, which take place at Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash., between Monday and Wednesday (April 15-17). Cheng, Ching and DeHuff are all in their respective teams' lineups. The women's squad is aiming for its 12th consecutive league title, while the men hope to add to their league-leading total of 17.

Men's WCC All-Academic first team: Kevin DeHuff (Pepperdine), James Fahy (Gonzaga), Grant Forrest (San Diego), Alexis Gemme-Piacente (San Diego), Ben Geyer (Saint Mary's), Jordan Hammer (BYU), Scott Lowe (Santa Clara), Linus Vaisanen (San Diego).



Women's WCC All-Academic first team: Lauren Atkinson (BYU), Taylor Camany (Santa Clara), Liv Cheng (Pepperdine), Alina Ching (Pepperdine), Michelle Condry (San Francisco), Genavive Dodge (Gonzaga), Victoria Fallgren (Gonzaga), Alice Kim (Gonzaga), Kaci McCartain (Santa Clara), Eyglo Oskarsdottir (San Francisco).

Pepperdine Waves
Official online store